I JUST CAN’T QUITE PUT MY FINGER ON IT, BUT IT HAS A LOT TO DO WITH FACEBOOK AND BLOGS…PART 1

Something very subliminal and insidious is happening.

And, instead of ranting and raving about a half-dozen or so examples of these “happenings”, I think I’ll just spread them out over several posts, thus “Part 1”.

Let’s start with “DH”.

  • designated hitter?
  • darling honey?
  • dreadful harridan?
  • delicious hunk?
  • dumbass human?

Of course, being Mrs. Hate, my personal favorite is “dumbass human”. It cuts to the chase in a way nothing else can do.

But that’s not what’s happening here. What’s HAPPENING here is that  you can skim through almost any blog, Facebook page, Twitter, or some such and see DH DH DH DH.

It took me a little while to figure out what DH meant. Then one day, the earth shook, the sky parted, and Eureka! it was as plain as the nose on your face!! DEAR HUSBAND!!!

Obviously, I’m all for anonymity, and I can understand why, if you’re writing about your family, you might not want to refer to them by their given names. Shoot, I may have five husbands and twenty children, but you’re never going to know it from anything I write, much less know their names.

But, “DH”??? That sounds like you’re addressing a letter…sort of. And you’re not calling your husband “Bob” or “Joe” or whatever, so…my goodness!! we must be in Victorian times when ladies were very circumspect in their forms of address, even with the person they cohabited with (with whom they cohabited?? whatever).

Once again, and I’ll beat this subject to death until the last word I write, “DH” over and over and over everybody saying it so quaintly and titteringly (word invention) is UNIMAGINATIVE, meaning TRITE!!!

And, ALSO once again, where are the men writing blogs and such?? Are they referring to their wives as “DW”??

  • damn witch?
  • disgusting woman?
  • dazzling wench?
  • demanding whiner?
  • delightful wild thing (a little extra here)?

I’m just not sure if I’ve ever read a blog written by a male referring to his sig/other as “DW”. Again, as I’ve stated in a previous post, I’m not getting into a gender-based discussion here…and I wouldn’t want to be a man for anything in the world…but ladies—HAVE SOME UNIQUENESS OR ORIGINALITY ABOUT YOU!!!

So what’s insidious about all this?? I would repeat the title here and say “I just can’t quite put my finger on it”, but actually, my finger points to and lands on a dumbing-down of thought, a lack of curiosity or energy, a fear of thinking for oneself.

Our brains are in danger of turning into mush. Looks like it to me, anyway, from reading Facebook and blogs.

Coming up next Friday: Part 2, featuring “She’s the strongest woman I know.”

Mrs. Hate can’t wait!!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

